Professional Practice Committee

Dr Tom Aspray

Ordinary Council Member

Mrs Anna Becvar

Ordinary Council Member
Anna Becvar (BSc (Hons), MI Soil Sci, C Sci, MBPR (FACTS)), is a Chartered Soil Scientist . Anna works on planning, permitting, developing soils and an extensive array of waste material recovery, recycling, and product development activities for the anaerobic digestion industry. She also carries out on farm soil management work and participates in Government research projects, and knowledge exhange.

Dr Paul Gibbs

Since 1997, Paul has worked with a wide range of clients including; waste management companies, water utilities, local authorities, regulators, government departments and insurance companies as well as many smaller businesses and independent farmers and land managers throughout the UK, in Europe, Middle East, Australasia and the USA. Paul provides consultancy advice, emergency response and expert witness services in all areas of soil science and the wider land environments, with a particular focus on land contamination, agricultural productivity, land restoration/reclamation and recycling of waste to land e.g. biosolids, compost, anaerobic digestate

Dr Paul Newell Price

Paul is an ADAS Senior Soil Scientist with over twenty years of experience of applied research and consultancy experience working on soils issues in the UK and overseas. Paul obtained his MSc in Soil Science from Reading University in 1992 and PhD in Soil Erosion and Conservation, including three years of field work in Southern Morocco, in 1996. This was followed by two years carrying out soil and agronomy applied research and consultancy for Chambers of Agriculture in northern France and seven years on soil survey, land reclamation and biosolids recycling with Land Research Associates, before joining ADAS in 2005. The focus of Paul’s work is now on applied research into policy-related soil and nutrient management issues, including soil structural condition in grasslands, the use of organic manures in agriculture and land restoration, and the interactions between agricultural production and soil and water protection. Paul is a Chartered Scientist, Member of the Institute of Professional Soil Scientists (IPSS), and a BASIS accredited trainer for the Fertiliser Advisers Certification and Training (FACTS) and Nutrient Management Planning qualifications.

Dr Jason Owen

Jason is currently Chair of the Institute of Professional Soil Scientists (IPSS) and is on the Council and Board of Trustees for the British Soils Science Society (BSSS). Jason originally studied Environmental Studies as an undergraduate prior to specialising in soil science having completed a Soil Science MSc and PhD at the University of Aberdeen. Since 1995 Jason has managed the Soils Analysis Laboratory at the James Hutton Institute, Aberdeen (formerly Macaulay Land Use Research Institute), providing a range of high quality chemical and physical soil analyses to a broad range of commercial and research based organisations, both nationally and internationally. Jason’s main interests focus on quality assurance protocols and standards with respect to soil analysis, currently sitting on the British Standards Institute committee EH/004 Soil Quality. Jason has been involved in Food and Agricultural Organisation (FAO) development work in ex-soviet bloc states developing soil analysis support infrastructure and advising on soil quality / assurance protocols. Jason believes in the importance of communicating soil science to a wide audience and regularly gives talks and presentations to interested groups, public shows and the general public. Jason has participated in live radio presentations and made several television appearances discussing various aspects of soil science and soil management.

Dr Mike Palmer

Dr Eleanor Reed

Ordinary Council Member
I am a Chartered (CSci), Principal Environmental Scientist, within Wardell Armstrong’s Soils and Peat team with over 10 years' experience in soil and peat science research. I provide peat, soils and agricultural advice to a wide range of clients from individual landowners to multi-national companies and specialises in the delivery of large-scale infrastructure projects. I am the named soils specialist to CSJV on HS2 Area South. Eleanor undertakes soil and peat surveys for agricultural land classification (ALC, LCCA), forestry and other purposes; prepares soil management and restoration plans; and the preparation of EIAs, for UK and overseas developments including nationally important linear energy infrastructure projects. I currently sit on the National Council of the BSSS.

Mrs Gill Shaw

Mr Alan Stapleton

Mr Dick Thompson

Following fifteen years of field soil survey in England and Wales Dick Thompson developed a team focused on soil science in environmental management and then served as Director of the National Soil Resources Institute between 2005 and 2008. His continued involvement with the British Society of Soil Science and its Professional Practice Committee (formerly the IPSS) has led to a heavy involvement with the development of the Working with Soil professional competency scheme and, latterly, its translation into a training and CPD scheme. He served as Governance Secretary and was a Board and Council member of BSSS until 2015. Since 2015, he has served on the BSSS Professional Pracitce Committee and assumed responsibility for the Working with Soil professional competency and training programme. He now also represents the PPC on the Education Committee.