New President for 2019 plus other changes to Board and Council

Professor Sacha Mooney (BSSS President)
7th January 2019

Professor Sacha Mooney (Professor in Soil Physics & Head of Division of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Faculty of Science) became President of the Society on 1st January 2019 taking over from Professor Wilfred Otten (Professor of Soil Biophysics, Cranfield University). Professor Liz Baggs stands down from Board and Council after six years of service and Dr Bruce Lascelles (Business Director - Environmental Planning at Arcadis) joins the Board as Incoming President.

Professor Rattan Lal honoured with Glinka World Soil Prize 2018

21st December 2018

Professor Rattan Lal, mentioned by Reuters as part of the World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds in 2015 and 2016, won the 3rd edition of the Glinka World Soil Prize on the occasion of World Soil Day, 5 December 2018, for his outstanding contribution to sustainable soil management and the protection of soil resources. The award includes a monetary prize of $15,000, which Professor Lal is donating to an endowment to support the Carbon Management and Sequestration Center.